SUFF Artwork

2019 Jury

Celebrating films that go the extra mile in transgressing the status quo when it comes to film form and content, the 2019 Jury is comprised of two panels.


Anna Broinowski is a Walkley Award-winning filmmaker and author whose documentaries have screened around the world, consistently reaching audiences over one million. They include Hanson: Please Explain!, Aim High in Creation!, Forbidden Lie$, Helen’s War, Sexing the Label and Hell Bento!!.

Anna Broinowski

Former owner of Trash Video, the largest cult video rental store in Australia, filmmaker, published author, researcher, film festival curator, musician, TV presenter, and above all, unrepentant and voracious fan of the weirdest fringes of psychotronic cinema. Andrew Leavold toured the world several times with his book and feature length documentary The Search For Weng Weng (SUFF 2014), which chronicles his quest to find the truth behind the midget Filipino James Bond.

Andrew Leavold

Julian Shaw is an author, filmmaker and actor, best known for directing the 2007 film Darling! The Pieter-Dirk Uys Story, a British Film Institute award-winning documentary about the life of South African political satirist Pieter-Dirk Uys and currently on the festival circuit with his new hybrid eroto-doco-thriller USE ME.

Julian Shaw

Travis Johnson is Australia’s most prolific film journalist. Over the years he has written thousands of reviews, interviews, features and news articles, hosted dozens of public Q&As, interviews and panels, and appeared on numerous radio programs and podcasts including FilmInk, X-Press Magazine, The West Australian, ReelTime, io9/Gizmodo, SBS, AccessReel, Beat, Brag, and more. Buy him a beer.

Travis Johnson


Josephine Mackerras is a multi-award winning filmmaker who spent her childhood in Australia and China. Her first passion was acting, joining a theatre group at the age of 9. She left the southern hemisphere at 16, living in Jerusalem, Amsterdam, Montreal, London, Paris and New York where she studied film making at NYU. Her films have been accepted in over 110 film festivals worldwide, including SXSW, Edinburgh, Brussels, Seattle, Chicago, Slamdance, AFI, MIFF and Raindance. Her first feature film Alice is presently doing the festival circuit and has won a string of awards including this year's Grand Jury prize at SXSW.

Josephine Mackerras

Mikey Hamer is one of our fantastic and dedicated mentors for TAKE48 from P2 Content Agency. He is a highly trained Cinematographer but also a true end-to-end practitioner with an insatiable source of energy who has been making TVCs, music videos and a whole raft of compelling content throughout his accomplished career.

Mikey Hamer

Josh McEvoy is a Senior Art Director and Designer (and also one of our fantastic mentors for TAKE48) from P2 Content Agency. Josh is a highly skilled motion graphics designer with extensive experience in producing TVC’s, TV Programme Design, Motion and Digital Design as well as 3D animation.

Josh McEvoy